A Well Deserved Break

Half Dome Reflection

Half Dome Reflection by the Mattman

I did something I have never done before, I completely unplugged.

The family took a well deserved trip to Yosemite last week to go camping. It was awesome and perhaps most awesome of all, I had absolutely no access to media. No cell phone, no wireless, no television, no radio, no IPod. I only saw one newspaper headline the entire time I was there. And although I wondered how the vice presidential debate turned out and whether or not the Congress passed a bail out bill, I really didn’t miss it. It is perhaps a very sad statement to say that this was the first time I completely unplugged, but I think we take for granted the constant rush of information that bombards us on a daily basis. And are we really that uninformed if we don’t catch every broadcast of the evening news, every CNN headline, every Digg top story, every edition of All Things Considered? Now I know that I consume far more media than most people and of late have been on a particular path to paying more attention, but it was so good for the soul, to leave that behind for a few days.

Here is what I did do instead:

    Sat around the campfire and reminisced about old tv shows.
    Took a car ride to the tunnel view to see the valley from above.
    Visted Yosemite Falls after the rain storm and watched the kids climb to the bottom of the falls.
    Walked around most of the valley floor with our short legged dog.
    Rode bikes to take our showers at Curry Village.
    Saw lots of deer and speculated about bear traps.
    Had to cook quickly and keep all food in the bear box so we didn’t end up as bear traps.
    Survived the downpour Friday night with only minimal tent leakage.
    Had a drink in the bar the Ahwahnee.
    Made crescent rolls on carved sticks over an open fire.
    Counted the foreign languages I heard (it was over 20)
    Took pictures for countless other groups.
    Wore closed toed shoes for the first time in 5 months.
    Read a new book on our air mattress that needed the Mattman for balast.
    Didn’t miss the media circus one little bit.
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Eric Lee said,

    I discovered your homepage by coincidence.
    Very interesting posts and well written.
    I will put your site on my blogroll.
    🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

