One Year Later

Monkey Push the Button

Monkey Push the Button

I launched my second ever blog one year ago this week. It was fun to look back and see what I hoped for my blog. It read:

Here is my blog wishlist:

1. Update every day, or at least 5 days a week.

2. Become brave enough to let my friends read my blog eventually.

3. Get a really cool design going. I like pretty things to look at, especially if they are green.

4. Be relevant or at least coherent, or better yet a good speller with a decent vocabulary.

5. Become brave enough to let my family read my blog and still have them respect me in the morning.

6. Remember my login and password.

And here is how I have done:

1. Well I don’t update every day or even 5 days a week but since July of this year I have been pretty good at getting something new up at least once a week.

2. I did become brave enough to share my blog with my family and friends (although not my in laws as our politics are about as polar opposite as you can be). And I only became brave enough in the last month as I get more and more excited about the election.

3. Well no cool design yet. I am torn between learning how to design something myself or asking one of my highly talented professional friends to make me look cool. Maybe I will acheive this by next year.

4. Well I think I am relevant at least lately in light of the impending election. The spelling and vocab are okay, although I sometimes have to go back and edit my post a day after it goes up.

5. I think my family and friends respect me, but perhaps you have to ask them.

6. And most important of all, I have remembered by password. Hooray, although this has more to do with managing my email accounts better than my memory. But the good thing is, I am accessing my blog often.

I thought it might be appropriate to make a new list of goals for the coming year so here goes.

1. Branch out to more topics, I am fired up about the election, but then what?

2. Attract more regular visitors. Although this week has been amazing. My blog is the first google listing for the search ‘Is Barack Obama qualified?’ What and honor and a trip.

3. Get a new design (see above)

4. Read other peoples blogs, maybe even susbribe to a few.

5. Continue to post regularly and remember my password. These two goals are really related.

So wish me luck and please let me know what you think of things so far and what you would like to see in the future.

Leave a Reply

